I’m not going to tell you that The Thing, the prequel to the 1982 John Carpenter classic coming out in about a month, is going to be great. It ought to be great, but that’s hardly an indicator in this day and age. I will tell you this, though: It’s gonna get $8 of my money. I’ve been excited about this movie since the first teasers (but then, I was also pretty psyched about Tron Legacy).

If you’re anything like me, you don’t need any convincing at this point. But I’ll show you this anyway:

From the original movie: The strange body MacReady finds burned and frozen outside the ruined Norwegian base. Sometimes referred to as "old splitface."

From the red-band trailer for the prequel: This guy is alive and in motion in the trailer. I think there's a flamethrower and a freeze in his immediate future.

Ironically, all indications are that the plot of this prequel is a direct mirror of the original. We certainly know how it ends! But one of the things I found compelling about the original was the implication that MacReady and crew’s story was just one iteration in a thousand horror stories that came before it—at the Norwegian base, on the alien saucer, and who knows how many times before? The fact that I know the story and the ending doesn’t dampen my enthusiasm one bit.

Seriously, with a nod like that one (not just the presence of ol’ splitface, but the fact that they teased him in the trailer), how can you not want to see this movie?

Comment below; you know you wanna! And receive an email notification of every update to this site by subscribing (see the link to the right). Converse with me on Twitter at @charlesmryan, or follow my writing diary on Facebook at Charles M Ryan.

