The last handful of Illos-a-Week have launched with apologies, but no longer: I’m posting, and I’m posting on time. The technical issues that have made Illo-a-Week a hassle for me (and hence activated my laziness/procrastination function) have been overcome.

 

Cover image for the Operatives Kit

Nowadays, images of black-clad SpecOps and SWAT guys with laser sights and night-vision gear are all over pop culture, but back in the day this was pretty cutting-edge shit. This is from the BlackEagle Operatives Kit for Millennium’s End; it was reused on the cover of the Operatives Kit v2.0.

You might notice this is my first color piece on Illo-a-Week. Back in the early days of my game industry career, when I was running Chameleon Eclectic, I had more time, energy, and micromanagerial inclination than cash. So I did everything: all the design, writing, editing, layout, and art (along with the marketing, sales, accounting, and business management). That included cover art. I was never a decent painter, so I did a handful of cover pieces for the early works in color pencil. At its best, like this, I could give it a pretty paintlike style. This was the last of those pieces; cover art was the first thing I farmed out when my business had grown enough to permit employing freelancers.

Receive an email notification of every update to this site by subscribing (see the link to the right). Follow me on Twitter at @charlesmryan or find me on Facebook at Charles M Ryan.

