In the corner, behind the two guys who still held their swords, I caught a glint of metal as a brown shape went into motion.

“Maddy!” I yelled out.

As if in slo-mo, Madeleine turned toward me, her eyes wide in indignation. But Stephan had caught the line of my gaze and lunged forward. His shoulder caught Madeleine just beneath hers, throwing her into the greasy straw and spilled gravy. The monk’s off-arm had been reaching for Madeleine, but Stephan caught it with his left hand and, in one fluid motion, swung his sword arm around, connecting its pommel with the monk’s head. The impact made a cracking noise; the knife went whirling through the air as the monk crumpled.

In honor of the great strides I’ve been making in NaNoWriMo, for the rest of November I’m going to post COMPLETE CHAPTERS every Monday. Starting today. So enjoy your COMPLETE chapter 4 now! Did I mention it’s COMPLETE?

That’s my part of the deal. Here’s yours: Post a comment. If you don’t, you won’t be allowed to read future postings. I’m keeping a list.

Click through for a PDF

Enjoy! And comment!

(And don’t forget: You can receive an email notification of every update by subscribing (see the link to the right). Also, you can follow me on Twitter at @charlesmryan; or find me on Facebook at Charles M Ryan.)

