OK, I’m a bit late today. Sorry; I’m closing on a deadline for a freelance project I’m doing for my good (make that great) friends over at Super Genius Games. Don’t think I’m authorized to say anything about that project, but it’s a bit different, it’s been fun to work on, and I can’t wait to see the final product. And I’m working with some great co-writers. But I digress.

Here’s the complete second chapter of Martin’s tale. If you’ve been keeping up with this, you’ve already read the first chunk of this chapter (posted last week). If you haven’t, you can start with the complete chapter 1 here.

Now, I need your help. And what better way to get it than to hold a contest? So here it is:

Stephan’s livery is an argent cross (moline, though the story hasn’t specified that) on an azure field. For those of us who only speak English, that means a white cross on blue.

Thing is, some time after establishing this, I came to realize that Madeleine really needs a cross motif. So Stephan needs something different. And I just can’t come up with anything I like. That’s where you come in.

Give me Stephan’s heraldry. Post your idea into the comments here. If you don’t know a darn thing about heraldry, there are a number of great sites on the web; I recommend Notre Dame’s Heraldic Dictionary as a pretty good place to start, or try out this nifty heraldry design software (don’t panic; there’s a free trial version).

If I like your design, I’ll A. Use it in the book and B. Write you, or, if you prefer, your RPG character, into the story*. And I’ll credit you accordingly.

And regardless of whether you win, I will personally send everyone who posts a heraldry idea in my comments thread a lollipop**.

As usual, I’d love comments about the story itself as well (the feedback I’ve had so far has been terrifically valuable). Post it! (What the heck, I’ll send you a lollipop too!)

Oh, and here’s that chapter for you:

Click through for PDF.

Look forward to hearing from you!

* Artistic license will be taken as I ensure that you, or your character, fits the story. Count on it.

** Terms and conditions apply. For starters, you’ll have to email me your address. I may or may not extend this offer outside the continental United States. Offer void where impractical.

